Assembly California Legislature

Joint Informational Hearing

Assembly Health Committee and Budget Sub No. 1 Assemblymembers Bonta and Dr. Weber, Chairs

Bright Spots and Remaining Barriers to Realizing the Potential of Community Health Workers, Promotoras, and Representatives to Improve Health in California

Tuesday, March 12, 2024 – 1:30 PM 1021 O Street, Room 1100

AGENDA

- 1) Opening Remarks from Committee Chairs
- 2) Introduction: Background, History, and Vision for Community Health Workers, Promotoras, and Representatives (CHW/P/Rs) in California
 - a) Carlina Hansen, Program Officer, California Health Care Foundation
 - b) Mayra Alvarez, President, The Children's Partnership
 - c) Dr. Seciah Aquino, Executive Director, Latino Coalition for a Healthy California
 - d) Dr. Mark Ghaly, Secretary, California Health and Human Services Agency
- 3) Stakeholder Perspectives: Successes, Challenges, and Opportunities
 - a) Katie Andrew, *Director of Government Affairs, Quality & Behavioral Health;* Local Health Plans of CA
 - b) Alex Fajardo, Executive Director, El Sol Neighborhood Educational Center

- c) Dantia Hudson, *Program Director, Alameda County Health Coach Program;* Alameda County Health Care Services Agency
- d) Dr. Thu Quach, *President*, Asian Health Services on behalf of California Primary Care Association
- e) Dr. Mark LeBeau, Chief Executive Officer, California Rural Indian Health Board
- f) Maria Lemus, Executive Director, Visión y Compromiso
- g) Andrea Mackey, *Senior Policy Manager and Lead, CHW/P/R Coalition;* California Pan-Ethnic Health Network

4) Implementing CHW/P/R Services and Workforce in California: Successes, Challenges, and Opportunities

- a) Michelle Baass, *Director*, California Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) René Mollow, *Deputy Director*, *Health Care Benefits and Eligibility*, DHCS
- b) Elizabeth Landsberg, *Director*, California Department of Health Care Access and Information (HCAI)
 Libby Abbott, *Deputy Director*, *Office of Health Workforce Development*, HCAI

5) Closing Remarks from Committee Chairs